Daily Current Events – 23.11.16




  • Portugal Prime Minister Antonio Costa to be Chief Guest of 14th  Pravasi Bharatiya Divas.


  • António Costa (54), the Indian origin Prime Minister of Portugal will be the chief guest at the 14th Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD) Convention.


  • The PBD Convention is scheduled to be held from January 7 to 9, 2017 in Bengaluru, Karnataka.


  • Pravasi Bharatiya Divas (PBD is celebrated every year on January 9 to mark the contribution of overseas Indian community in the development of India. It is celebrated every year since 2003.


  • It provides a platform to the overseas Indian community to engage with the government and people of the land of their ancestors for mutually beneficial activities.


  • January 9 was chosen as the day to celebrate this occasion since it was on this day in 1915 that Mahatma Gandhi returned to India from South Africa.




  • 5th International Tourism Mart.


  • The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India, in association with the North Eastern States and West Bengal is organising the “International Tourism Mart” in Imphal, Manipur from 23rd – 25th November, 2016.


  • This is the 5th International Tourism Mart. It is an annual event organised in the North Eastern region with the objective of highlighting the tourism potential of the region in the domestic and international markets.



  • First e-assembly constituency of the country- Palampur,Himachal Pradesh


  • The Palampur Assembly Constituency in Kangra district of Himachal Pradesh adopted E-Vidhan system and became the first e-assembly constituency of the country which, making the House Business paperless.
  • The Palampur’s e-constituency is a step toward’s supporting the Government of India’s move of Digital India and include modern techniques in daily business.









  • All Schools of State will be registered in online database.


  • As per direction of Council of Elementary Education of Rajasthan, All 37000 schools of states and 80 lakh Students database will go online.


  • It includes all Govt Schools, Private schools, Miltary schools, sainik schools, kendriya vidhaylay etc.